Gerry Weber

  • Integrated B2C and B2B handling
  • Joint hanging and folded garment handling
  • High-performing returns concept
  • Consistent use of RFID

Fully automated warehouse concept for the new logistics center

Client

GERRY WEBER International AG with headquarters in Halle/Westphalia is a global concern uniting four strong brand families under one roof: GERRY WEBER, TAIFUN, SAMOON by GERRY WEBER, and HALLHUBER. Since its inception in 1973, GERRY WEBER has developed into one of the best known fashion and lifestyle companies worldwide with nearly 1,270 stores and sale points (275 of them HALLHUBER), more than 2,500 shops, 270 franchise stores, and online brand shops in nine countries. The company continues to build Its firm position as a global player. The concern with about 7,000 employees worldwide (1,500 of them HALLHUBER) has sales structures in 62 countries and is among the largest listed fashion groups in Germany. In fiscal year 2014/2015, the SDAX listed GERRY WEBER Group had corporate earnings of €920.8mn. Their management board is made up of Ralf Weber, responsible for wholesale and corporate development, Dr. David Frink in charge of Finance, Logistics, IT, Administration, Production, and HR Management, as well as Norbert Steinke, head of the retail division.

Our tasks

Support of Gerry Weber project management with planning and implementing a new logistics center with attached outlet store measuring 76,000 m² storage and functional space on up to five levels with a capacity of 5.6 million items.

The multi-channel concept implemented at Gerry Weber handles B2C and B2C deliveries with the same processes and systems. The concentration of B2C, B2B, pre-order and follow-up order business, as well as handling of hanging and folded garments in one location saves time, routes, and costs.

The core idea of the new concept is joint shipping of hanging and folded garments in the same carton. This saves costs and decreases shipping times, and results in a broader choice of carriers.

Gerry Weber hanging garments are commissioned fully automatically. They only need to be manually processed by an employee once when entering them into the system and once when packing them for shipping. Folded garments are commissioned according to the “goods-to-man” principle in a single step directly into the shipping carton.

In joint shipping of hanging and folded garments, the folded items are commissioned in batches at the shuttle picking stations or from the flow rack, re-packed in bags individually at a transfer point, and then handled via the fully automated and high-performing hanging garment transport system.

Another target for the new logistics processes was implementing a high-performing returns processing system for up to 30,000 returns packages per day. When processing returns, the system reacts flexibly to the quantities and compositions of the arriving items and prepares either one-item units or mixed units.

During all handling phases from receiving to shipping and in returns processing, the logistics system records and uses the information of the RFID tags sewn into the garments. That way, every item of an item position can be individually identified until the time of sale, which offers a whole new dimension of completeness and accuracy control of inventory and returns.

Gerry Weber

  • Gestion B2C et B2B intégrée
  • Gestion commune des marchandises suspendues et des marchandises allongées
  • Concept ultra-performant pour les retours
  • Utilisation pertinent de RFID

Concept entièrement automatisé de dépôt pour le nouveau centre logistique

Client

GERRY WEBER International AG, sise à Halle/Westphalie est un groupe présent dans le monde entier qui réunit en son seing quatre marques fortes : GERRY WEBER, TAIFUN, SAMOON by GERRY WEBER et HALLHUBER. Depuis sa fondation en 1973, GERRY WEBER International AG est devenue l’une des entreprises de mode et de lifestyle les plus connues avec dans le monde entier près de 1.270 magasins et espaces de vente (dont 275 de HALLHUBER), plus de 2.500 espaces en boutique, 270 magasins franchisés et des boutiques en ligne dans neuf pays. L’entreprise ne cesse d’asseoir sa position ancrée de global player. Avec ses 7000 collaborateurs dans le monde entier (dont 1.500 HALLHUBER), le groupe dispose de structures commerciales dans 62 pays et fait partie des plus grandes groupes de mode cotés en bourse d’Allemagne. Au cours de l’exercice comptable 2014/2015, le groupe GERRY WEBER, coté au SDAX, a réalisé un chiffre d’affaires consolidé de 920,8 millions d’euros. Au directoire, le président, Ralf Weber est responsable des grossistes et du développement de l’entreprise, Dr. David Frink est responsable des finances, de la logistique et de l’IT, l’administration, la production et la gestion RH et Norbert Steinke du retail.

Nos tâches

Assistance de la gestion de projet Gerry Weber pour la planification et la réalisation d’un nouveau centre logistique avec un magasin d’usine attenant avec 76.000 m² d’espaces de dépôt et fonctionnels sur jusqu’à cinq niveaux avec une capacité de 5,6 millions de pièces.

Le concept multicanaux mise en œuvre par Gerry Weber traite aussi bien les livraisons B2C et B2B avec les mêmes processus et installations. La centralisation de B2C, B2B, des précommandes et des commandes ultérieures et le traitement des marchandises suspendues et allongées sur un site a permis d’économiser des efforts, du temps et des coûts.

L’idée centrale du nouveau concept est l’envoi commun de marchandises suspendues et allongées dans le même carton. Cela permet d’économiser des coûts et entraîne une plus grande vitesse d’expédition et un plus grand nombre de prestataires de service pouvant se charger du fret.

Les marchandises suspendues Gerry Weber sont traitées de manière entièrement automatisée dans les commandes. Elles doivent uniquement être traitées manuellement lors de l’enregistrement dans le système à l’arrivée des marchandises et lors du condition lors de la sorite des marchandises par respectivement un collaborateur. Le traitement des commandes des marchandises allongées se fait sur un niveau selon le principe marchandise-vers-homme, directement dans le carton d’expédition.

En cas d’envoi commun des marchandises allongées et suspendues, les articles allongés sont commandés par lots dans les endroits d’enlèvement par shuttle ou dans l’étagère continue, sont placés à un point de remise dans des sacs puis traitées par la technologie entièrement automatisée et ultra-performante de convoyage des marchandises suspendues.

Un autre objectif de la planification des nouveaux processus logistiques était la réalisation d’un traitement performant des retours pour jusqu’à 30.000 colis de retour par jour. Pour le traitement des retours, le système réagit de manière flexible aux quantités et à la composition des pièces qui arrivent et forment en conséquence des unités par article ou des unités mixtes.

La logistique enregistre et utilise dans tous les niveaux de manipulation, de l’arrivée à la sortie des marchandises et dans le traitement des retours, les informations des étiquettes RFID cousues sur les articles. Ainsi, chaque pièce d’une position d’article est identifiable jusqu’au moment de la vente, ce qui apporte une dimension entièrement nouvelle du contrôle d’intégralité et d’exactitude des stocks et des retours.