Conrad Electronic

  • B2C system with consistent use of the goods-to-man principle
  • Parallel handling of B2B and B2C in one system
  • Shuttle warehouse

Planning and implementation of a logistics expansion for multi-channel fulfillment

Client

The family business was founded in 1923 in Berlin and has been headquartered in Hirschau since 1946. The family-run enterprise was expanded step by step from a mail order specialist for electronic components to one of the leading omni-channel suppliers of electronics and technology in Europe.

About the company’s history
The company’s product range currently encompasses around 700,000 items and is continuously expanded. From the smallest SMD component to brand-name PCs, Conrad offers a fascinating and competent range of products by leading manufacturers. From measuring technology or home automation to state-of-the-art communications technologies all the way to model making and model railway systems. The Conrad range also includes strong store-brands like VOLTCRAFT®, renkforce, TOOLCRAFT, C-Control, Reely, Conrad energy, etc.

The Conrad logistics center in Wernberg-Köblitz is one of the most modern commissioning and distribution centers in the European mail order industry. Every day, around 35,000 packages are sent out to over 150 countries, that’s 9 million packages per year. As an internationally active group of companies, Conrad is represented in many European countries by its own national subsidiaries or distribution partners.

Our tasks

In 2000: planning and implementation of the new location. Development of an innovative logistics concept completely separating the commissioning and packing processes. Structuring of the warehouse into different sections with buffer function and introduction of an ingenious transport routing system.

In 2015: planning and implementation of a building extension. Integration of the existing systems and processes into a new, more powerful logistics system for handling the fast growing product range and growing sales volume in B2C and B2B, particularly through e-commerce.

Conrad Electronic mails an average of 40,000 packages to over 150 countries every day – the new logistics will be able to process up to 100,000 packages per day during peak times.

One of the core components of the new system is the shuttle warehouse with 200,000 storage locations and up to 12,000 stock movements per hour. The majority of shipments are commissioned directly from the storage bin to the shipping carton in a single-stage process. 375 shuttles are in motion in the 15 shelf aisles, each of which is 60m long. When the item request necessitates it, the shuttles even switch levels by means of shuttle lifters.

A particular challenge was the fact that both store delivery and end-customer shipping draw goods from the same inventory – even from the same bin – in the shuttle warehouse. Precise commissioning strategies were needed to avoid bottlenecks and blockages.

Conrad Electronic

  • Système B2C avec utilisation responsable du principe marchandise vers homme
  • Gestion parallèle de B2B et B2C dans un système
  • Dépôt shuttle

Planification et réalisation d’un élargissement logistique pour multichannel fulfillment

Client

L’entreprise familiale a été fondée en 1923 à Berlin et possède depuis 1946 son siège à Hirschau. Petit à petit, l’entreprise dirigée par ses propriétaires est passée du statut d’expéditeur spécial de composants électroniques à fournisseur leader omnicanaux pour l’électronique et la technique en Europe.

Histoire de l’entreprise
L’assortiment comprend actuellement 700.000 articles et ne cesse de se développer. Des plus petits composants SMD jusqu’aux PC de marque, Conrad propose une sélection fascinante et compétente de produits de fabricants leaders. De la technique de mesure et la semi-automatisation en passant par les technologies de communication les plus modernes jusqu’au domaine du modélisme et des trains miniatures. Des marques fortes sont également fermement ancrées dans l’assortiment, comme par ex. les marques VOLTCRAFT®, renkforce, TOOLCRAFT, C-Control, Reely, Conrad energy, etc.

L’un des centres les plus modernes de traitement des commandes et de distribution dans le commerce par correspondance européen est le centre logistique Conrad à Wernberg-Köblitz. Chaque jour, 35.000 colis sont en moyenne envoyés dans plus de 150 pays, chaque année 9 millions d’envoi sont réalisés. En tant que groupe présent à l’internationale, Conrad est représentée par ses propres sociétés nationales et des partenaires commerciaux dans de nombreux pays d’Europe.

Nos tâches

En 2000 : Planification et réalisation du nouveau site. Développement d’un concept logistique innovant avec découplage complet des processus de traitement des commandes et de conditionnement. Organisation du dépôt dans divers espaces partiels avec fonction tampon et mise en place d’une gestion raffinée des voies de convoyage.

En 2015 : Planification et réalisation d’un bâtiment d’élargissement. Intégration des installations et processus existants dans une nouvelle logistique encore plus performante pour gérer l’assortiment d’articles en constante croissance et l’augmentation des chiffres d’affaires dans les domaines B2C et B2B, notamment dans le domaine professionnel de l’e-commerce.

Chaque jour, chez Conrad Electronic, plus de 40.000 colis sont envoyés en moyenne dans plus de 150 pays – la nouvelle logistique permettra dans les périodes de pointe d’envoyer jusqu’à 100.000 colis par jour.

L’une des pièces maîtresses de la nouvelle installation est le dépôt shuttle avec ses 200.000 emplacements et jusqu’à 12.000 mouvements par heure. Une grande partie des envois est traitée directement sur un niveau à partir du réservoir du dépôt shuttle dans le colis d’envoi. 375 navettes sont utilisées dans les 15 allées d’étagères
de 60 m de long chacune. Si un article doit être retiré, les navettes
changent même de niveau de dépôt grâce au système de levage.

L’un des défis à relever a été que aussi bien l’approvisionnement de la succursale que l’expédition au consommateur utilisent les mêmes stocks – et même le même réservoir – dans le dépôt navette. Il fallait définir des stratégies précises de traitement des commandes pour éviter les pénuries et les blocages.